Organizational Setup

Vigilance Head Quarters Building

Head Quarters

The Headquarters of the Directorate of Vigilance and Anti-Corruption department is located at No. 293, MKN Road, Alandur, Chennai - 600016. The DVAC is headed by a Director in the rank of Director General of Police/Additional Director General of Police assisted by a Joint Director in the rank of Inspector General of Police, Deputy Director in rank of Deputy Inspector General of Police. Five Superintendents of Police, supervise the work of the Investigating Officers, who are spread out in different districts (as given in the map and the Directory). Apart from the above, two Special Investigation Cells are functioning in the Directorate at Chennai under Inspectors-General of Police, assisted by two Superintendent of Police to supervise the enquiries/investigations involving elected Public Servants.

Administrative Wing

The Administrative Wing of the DVAC comprising 158 personnel handle the administration of the DVAC. The supervision of this wing rests with the Director, Joint Director, Deputy Director and the Superintendent of Police, North Range. The Head of the wing is the Administrative Officer. The entire correspondences of the DVAC, on all Administration related issues, are being looked into by the Administrative Wing.

Confidential Wing

This wing in DVAC handling confidential enquiries/cases relating to corruption aspects. This wing is being supervised by the Director, Joint Director, Inspector General of Police (SIC) and the Deputy Director with five Range Superintendents of Police. This wing comprises of Manager, Additional Manager, 7 Assistant Managers and 32 Special Assistants. The correspondance relating with Government/Vigilance Commissioner and the HODs on the cases/enquiries are handled by this Branch.

Investigative Wing

The Investigative Wing of the DVAC consists of police officers in the rank of Additional Superintendents of Police, Deputy Superintendents of Police and Inspectors of Police. They are spread all over the State and it is headed by Additional/Deputy Superintendent of Police with Investigating Officers in the rank of Inspectors and other supporting staff in the following district headquarters:

Chennai City Range North Range Central Range South Range West Range Spl.Inv.Cell
Chennai City-I Kancheepuram Trichy Madurai Coimbatore Spl.Inv.Cell-I
Chennai City-II Thiruvallur Karur Virudhunagar Tiruppur Spl.Inv.Cell-II
Chennai City-III Vellore Perambalur Theni Erode
Chennai City-IV Cuddalore Ariyalur Thoothukudi The Nilgiris
Chennai City-V Villupuram Pudukottai Ramanathapuram Salem
Chennai CSU-I Thiruvannamalai Thanjavur Sivagangai Dharmapuri
Chennai CSU-III Chengalpattu Nagapattinam Dindigul Krishnagiri
Headquarters Thirupattur Thiruvarur Kanyakumari Namakkal
Ranipet Mayiladuthurai Tirunelveli
Kallakurichi Tenkasi

Legal Wing

Apart from the investigation staff, there exists a legal wing consisting of 4 Additional Legal Advisors, 34 Deputy Legal Advisors and 6 Prosecutors for Disciplinary Proceedings to prosecute cases before the courts and tribunals and tender legal advice in the investigations/enquiries. The Law officers of this Directorate are ex-Officio Special Public Prosecutors for all cases investigated by the DVAC and tried by the Special Judges.

Technical Wing

There is a technical wing consisting of a Superintending/Executive Engineer to tender advice or assistance in the cases investigated by the Directorate involving technical matters. Apart from this, as and when required, the DVAC utilizes experts from various fields such as the Public Works Department, Highways, Metro water (CMWSSB) Chennai Corporation, Forest Department, Local Fund Audit, Engineering Departments from various Universities, Analytical Laboratories of State and Central Governments, etc. There is also a Finger Print Bureau consisting of one Assistant Director and six officers to render technical assistance on related matters.